The Great Power Outage of 2016

I love book to movie adaptations, so I was super excited to watch The Hunger Games when it came out. We went to one of the late showings at a movie theater that was in a little plaza. As we were leaving, the plaza was completely empty, and I was so scared that the Hunger Games were real. I kept telling Tyson, “This could totally happen. President Snow could be real.” We discussed this for a little while, and I told Tyson to leave me behind if something like the Hunger Games ever happens. I’m not fast, or strong, or good in high-stress scenarios. I would not do well in a situation like that. I think an Eagle Scout like him would have a good chance of survival, but not me because I have nothing to contribute besides my quick wit. He said he would never leave me behind, and that made me feel a little safer.

One night when we were coming home from the gym (I was hoping this would come up… We reluctantly go to the gym now!), and we noticed there wasn’t a single streetlight or apartment light on. I started to panic because this had President Snow written all over it. Our suspicions were confirmed when we got to our apartment and tried all the lights.

I tend to take electricity for granted, so I forget you need it to do pretty much everything. You want to charge your phone? You’ll need electricity. You want to be on WiFi? Electricity. You’re craving some microwave popcorn? Also electricity.

Since we’d just come back from the gym, we were super gross and sweaty, and not showering was not an option. But showering in the dark? Even I’ve seen enough scary movies to know that’s not a good idea. Luckily, I’m married to a resourceful man (Girls, add this to your list!). Tyson put a little flashlight in a mason jar, and I was able to shower without feeling like I was about to become a victim to a violent crime. We survived the next few hours without electricity, but I was really glad when it came back.

download

Whenever the topic of the Hunger Games comes up, I continue tell Tyson I would be dead weight, but he still refuses to hypothetically leave me behind. If that’s not love, then I don’t know what is.

Leave a Reply

