April Showers

When I was first engaged, I was at Starbucks going over wedding details in my head when I overheard a conversation between a girl and her wedding planner. (It’s a real job! I thought it was a job you only had if you were the lead in a romantic comedy.) She was telling her wedding planner that she only wanted to spend $3,000 on flowers. On flowers! My heart died a little inside because we had nowhere near that much for our whole wedding. That’s not what I think of when I think of our wedding, though.

When I think about our wedding, I think about how incredibly supportive and generous friends, family, and acquaintances were. Many of them didn’t even know me, but they knew and loved Tyson, so they donated their time, talents, and resources so that we could have the perfect day, and we did. Ever since then, I’ve been wanting to pay it forward in some way.

When my little sister got engaged, I knew I wanted to do something special for her. I remember how hard it was to be engaged, especially when you’re young, and don’t have all the time and money in the world to spend on the perfect day.

My sister in law and I decided to throw a bridal shower for my sister a week before her wedding. We made toilet paper wedding dresses that would have made Tim Gunn proud, ate pizza, and gave my sister marriage advice.

It’s weird being on this side of experience, but I like it. Also, I think I caught the party planning bug. Don’t encourage me.

Happy beginning of wedding season!

Leave a Reply

