Waking Up in Las Vegas

After the temple, we spent the next few hours going through our Vegas bucket list. It was pretty short because:

Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 12.30.15 AM

Tyson wanted to go ride an indoor roller coaster at the Adventuredome, and I wanted to go to Sprinkles. It was the kind of hot you don’t get in Utah until about August, and I had a killer migraine. We went to the Adventuredome, which is officially the worst place I’ve ever had a migraine, but Tyson loved it. After Adventuredome, we went to Target, where I impulse bought an $8 cardigan and then the best mango Slurpee I’ve ever had in my life.

I’d been looking forward to this trip for a long time, so it felt really surreal to actually be there with my friends. I met my friends during my freshman year of college, when we all lived in the same dorm. After having been pretty much invisible during high school, I didn’t know there was a place where I could fit in so well without constantly feeling like I had to hold back a part of myself. They took me in, insecurities and all. They are the most creative, hilarious, talented, and brilliant people in my life, and I feel most like myself when I’m with them. 

After Target and Vegas traffic, we finally got to the hotel, where we met up with my friends. Some of them I hadn’t seen since our wedding. Seeing them was just what I needed, and since we only had a few days to spend together, we only averaged about five hours of sleep a night, and spent the rest of the time eating, shopping, and catching up.

We spent our last night in Vegas going to a club, where I thought we would feel wildly out of place, but it was actually a lot of fun. After that, we went to Tacos El Gordo, and didn’t get back to the hotel until about 3 am. I had the restless energy you only get after a really fun night that you don’t want to end. I finally fell asleep after watching the lights outside of our hotel room, and wishing we didn’t have to go back home. Packing my bags and moving back to California asap.

We never did come up with a hashtag for our trip, but let’s do this every year!

Leave a Reply

