The Striped Shirt that Started It All

If you look through my pictures, you may have noticed I have a little bit of a striped shirt problem. This problem used to be reserved specifically for black and white t-shirts,  but it has since expanded into stripes of all colors and in all articles of clothing. I will be the first to admit that I have a problem. I wasn’t always like this. I used to think all patterns were created equal, until one shirt came along and changed everything for me.

The year was 2010. Gossip Girl was still on, and we were all still a little concerned about Britney Spears. I went shopping with my best friends, and we were in our first store. The first store is what sets the tone for the rest of the shopping trip, so the pressure was on to find something good. I saw the striped shirt of my dreams in the clearance aisle and thought I heard a love song, but it was probably just the music they were playing in the store. I snatched it up before anyone else could and then braced myself for the price tag. It was only $5!

This shirt is everything you’d ever want a shirt to be: soft, low-maintenance, loose enough that it forgives any overeating. I’ve been wearing this shirt at least weekly for the past six years and have only retired it from my usual lineup recently because it started getting little holes on the bottom. </3

This shirt has been through it all with me. It’s survived four moves, two states, and about ten thousand washes. I will be forever indebted to it for introducing me to the subtle but beautiful stripe. Everyone deserves at least one article of clothing that makes them feel like royalty. Thank you, $5 striped shirt, for being mine. ❤

 

Leave a Reply

