Salinas

I first fell in love with John Steinbeck when I was a senior in high school. We read East of Eden in AP English, and I was instantly hooked. The language was beautiful, the themes relevant, and the characters were so familiar. It’s still my favorite book eight years later, so don’t ask me what it’s about unless you’re ready for me to talk your ear off ;). Visiting John Steinbeck’s house had been on my bucket list for a while, so we planned a day trip to Salinas while we were in Northern California.

thumb_IMG_3581_1024 thumb_IMG_3584_1024 thumb_IMG_3587_1024 thumb_IMG_3591_1024

Being in the place that had inspired so much of my literary hero’s fiction was a dream come true. I left Salinas with a renewed resolve to write more about things that matter. I’ll die happy if I can inspire even one person the way John Steinbeck has inspired me.

timshel

Leave a Reply

