Into the Woods

I would describe myself as being extremely indoorsy. There’s nothing appealing to me about hiking or exploring the great outdoors. I wasn’t very excited about going to the Redwoods, but Tyson was so excited. It seemed like every day he found a new tree we could drive through.

“And it’s only five dollars,” he would say. I would smile and think, “You have to pay to drive through a tree?” A tree’s a tree, right?

Despite all this, I arrived at the Redwoods in high spirits, determined to not ruin Tyson’s first trip there by having a terrible attitude. Tyson planned a short hike for us that would still take us through as much of the trees as possible. As we started hiking, pretend amazement turned into real awe. We took our time peacefully walking hand in hand, and I felt as though we were the only two people in the world. It wasn’t the worst thing.

Tyson was in his element, and I loved seeing him so happy. I need one of those I ❤ My Eagle Scout bumper stickers.

Towards the end of our hike, we found our way to a road that led back to civilization, and I was almost disappointed. I was reminded of the way I felt when I would study for hours at the library and emerge disoriented, surprised the real world was still out there just as I’d left it. Except this time it wasn’t.

After finding my own Walden pond, everything felt a little different, including me.

Pictures couldn’t really do it justice, but let’s give it a shot.

IMG_3380 IMG_3395 IMG_3397 IMG_3416 IMG_3417 IMG_3419 IMG_3422 IMG_3425

Leave a Reply

