to be made smooth

Screen Shot 2014-01-28 at 8.44.47 PM

I’ve been thinking about a testimony that was shared a few weeks ago regarding 1 Nephi 17:46. It reads: “And ye also know that by the power of his almighty word he can cause the earth that it shall pass away; yea, and ye know that by his word he can cause the rough places to be made smooth…”

I’ve read 1 Nephi a lot, more than I’ve read any other book in the Book of Mormon, yet I’d never though of this verse referring to anything other than geography. But it applies to me too. He can cause my rough places to be made smooth – my anxiety, my fears, my insecurities. If mountains can be smoothed out, then my rough places should be no problem.

Tonight, as I was driving Tyson to a work meeting and stressing about an upcoming social commitment, Tyson told me, “You know who else had social anxiety? Moses. And you know what God told him? He said, ‘I got this.'” I don’t think that’s how the scripture goes exactly, and I’m not leading the children of Israel out of captivity, but I think the principle still applies: I am in His hands. So are you.

Leave a Reply

