“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers”

That quote has been making its rounds through Instagram, and it gets me every time.

October signals the beginning of all the best things. I love this month and all of its pumpkin-flavored goodness. I was always a little jealous of my sister for being a cool and crisp October baby while I was a gross and sweaty August baby. Also, opals are way prettier than peridots.

This weekend is one of my favorite weekends of the year – General Conference weekend! You can watch here. October is also the beginning of holiday season – Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year’s. Happy sigh.

I was sitting in a meeting today when I looked out the window and noticed it was snowing. And so it begins.

Last winter was dark. I was colder than I had ever been in my entire life. The homesickness had started to kick in worse than ever before. I was immobilized by my fear of driving in the snow (that one’s kind of my fault). Everywhere I looked I saw reminders of how imperfect my life was. I don’t think I even realized how unhappy I was until the sun came out sometime during April. Under that spring light, the winter of my discontent began to thaw.

As I was driving home today, rain splashed on my windshield, and I sang along to a long-forgotten song. I was struck by the orange and yellow leaves on the trees against the gray skies, and I promised myself that this winter would be different. So instead of heading home, I went to the grocery store, bought a can of pumpkin, and made a batch of pumpkin chocolate chip cookies. The best things in life are homemade, including happiness.

Screen shot 2013-10-03 at 7.15.48 PM

first snowfall of the season, I salute you!

I too am glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.

Leave a Reply

