my first college football game

When I first met Tyson, he wasn’t much of a sports fan. I’m not either, so I considered myself pretty lucky. Then he started working as an usher at the USU games… Suddenly, we’re listening to AM radio on game days, and he’s yelling, “Come on Aggies!” to no one in particular.

Since UCI doesn’t have a football team, I’d never been to a college football game. All of my football knowledge came from watching “Friday Night Lights,” and I had no idea what to expect when we showed up to the Homecoming game on Saturday. We’d gotten to the game a little late, so we had no seats, and the only way I was able to see was if I stood on my tiptoes. I had a panic moment where I thought, “What am I doing here?”

Everyone except for me seemed to know when to yell and hold up their gang signs, and I had no idea who to cheer for with no Tim Riggins on the field. At one point, somebody was about to score a touchdown or a first down or something, and Tyson yelled, “Go, go, go!” I turned to him and said, “You know they can’t hear you, right?” That turned his smile upside down and I felt terrible, so I decided to be a good sport for the rest of the game.

Screen shot 2013-09-14 at 10.16.37 PMI got us a snow cone, used the bathroom a few thousand times, paid an outrageous amount of money for a water bottle, and still had no idea what was going on. I clapped when everyone else clapped and said, “Oh, no” when everyone else booed.

Then it started raining.

People started leaving, and we were finally able to get seats (!). Tyson asked if I wanted to go home, but I was being a good sport, so I pushed all my “we’re going to get pneumonia and die” thoughts aside and told him we could stay. I was cold, soaking wet, and my hair had turned into what nightmares are made of, but Tyson looked like he was having the best time, which meant I was too. Once we had seats and I was finally able to see the game, I got kind of into it. I even learned when to yell, “First down!” It was all very exciting.

Utah State won 70-6, so I’d say it was a pretty good game. Guess who else scored some major points?

Me!

#goaggies

Leave a Reply

