education week

As a sort of last hurrah before school started, we drove down to BYU Education Week. We couldn’t take too much time off from work, so we only ended up going for the last day of the week. By then, we had been looking forward to it for months, and had planned and re-planned our schedule multiple times. We were both so excited, and I was afraid we would end up disappointed. We weren’t–the classes, the teachers, the atmosphere, everything was so great. I learned so much, and I’ve thought about it every day since.

20130823_094003 When Tyson first told me about Education Week, he said it would be like going to Institute all day. I love Institute, and I have since I went to my first class as a seventeen year old freshman at UCI. My testimony was strengthened as I began to internalize what I was learning, and I would sometimes skip my regular classes so I could go to my Institute classes. I never thought I would be able to find someone who loved learning about the gospel as much as I did.

20130823_123352Then I met Tyson.

Tyson and I didn’t meet at institute, but I think if I hadn’t seen him there every day, I wouldn’t have fallen in love with him the way I did. Being at Education Week reminded me of who we both were back then, and how perfect we both felt we were for each other. As we learned about marriage in a gospel setting, I couldn’t help but look at my companion in a different light, and think: We’re building something really good here. It’s meant to last through all of eternity.

Leave a Reply

