in which I’m not Superwoman

Fall semester has started, and even though I’m not going to school, Tyson’s schedule is a lot crazier now. In turn, this makes me a lot crazier. So, can I just use this little corner of the Internet to complain about how hard it is to be a working wife?

Yesterday after I got home from work and grocery shopping, I started on dinner. I threw some chicken in the crockpot for lunch the next day, threw some more chicken on a pan with some garlic salt on top and started on the dishes. I glanced at the living room and thought about vacuuming, which was pretty tiring. While the dishes dried, I made a short scavenger hunt for FHE. After hiding a Kazoozle at the end of the last clue, I rushed back to the kitchen to start on a salad (!).

I had just bought my first pair of cucumbers while unsupervised that day, so as I took one out of the bag, I realized that one of them had a big bruise on it. I instantly thought to myself, “You’re such an idiot.” Now, I would never talk to anyone else that way. I was saddened at how easy and even natural it was for me to insult myself.

This may not come as a surprise to anyone, but I am not Superwoman. I felt like I was for about 38 minutes yesterday. Then I hit a bump in the road in the form of a cucumber bruise, and I was human all over again. I’ve felt human ever since.

We spent Friday at BYU Education week (more on that later), and all I heard was, “Women are so incredible!” Well, sometimes I don’t feel so incredible. As I sit on my futon and type this, there’s a pile of unfolded laundry on my left, an open jar of jelly beans on my right, and no dinner on the table. I’m pretty sure I just heard the dryer go off, but those clothes better prepare to wrinkle because I am exhausted.

Most of the time, my expectations of what I want to be like and what I want to get done are just not realistic. Instead of being disappointed or calling myself the i word again, I’m going to write this in the hopes of internalizing it:

  • You have a lot to offer.
  • Even if you didn’t, your worth does not depend on your abilities.
  • Who you are at your very best is who you really are.
  • It’s okay to not be able to be everything to everyone all of the time.
  • You don’t have to be Superwoman.

Screen shot 2013-08-27 at 9.38.05 PM

Really, you don’t.

Leave a Reply

