pioneer day 2013

We celebrated Pioneer Day this week, a holiday I knew nothing about before we moved to Utah last year.

After work and a micronap, we went to a little fair at the park. It was 97 degrees at 8 pm and basically what nightmares are made of. Luckily, we found some cotton candy as soon as we got there, and all was well with the world again.

IMG_20130724_195328

A few hours later, it was time for Tyson’s favorite part of Pioneer Day: the fireworks. I was kind of cranky because I was so ready to go to sleep by then, but Tyson convinced me to go watch the fireworks with him. Even though it wasn’t the most spectacular show ever, I’m glad we were there together. I never want to become the kind of person who values sleep, or anything else, over making memories with my family.

Lately I’ve been thinking about why I started this blog in the first place — as a way to document our adventures as newlyweds in a new place. We’re technically not newlyweds anymore and Utah is no longer a new place for us, but I still want for this to be a place where I write about our adventures.

20130724_194415This means that we need to start having more adventures to document : )

After all, we can always watch reruns of Storage Wars when we’re retired.

Leave a Reply

