on creating a home

My motto when we first moved to Utah was kind of depressing. It was something along the lines of, “Do what you can with what you have.” We didn’t have very much, so I didn’t do very much with it either. Since then, what we have hasn’t changed as much as I have.

We had a fireside last Sunday, and it focused on womanhood. It stirred something within me, and I came home inspired to be a better woman, a better me. I came home wanting to do more than just do my best with what I had, not just with our apartment, but with my life.

20130724_180516

I’m obsessed with this little corner.

I realized that our home, however small, is also our kingdom, and I intend to make our little kingdom the very best it can be. I don’t just want for our apartment to be the place we live while we wait for something better to come along. I want for our home to be a place where we can feel safe and where we can most be ourselves. I want for it to be the place where we are encouraged to dream our biggest dreams.

Homemaking is more than a hobby or a game. It can be an act of creation, a work of art. It’s elevating a place from a geographical location to a refuge for the soul. Lately, I’ve been looking around our little apartment and thinking, “I think my soul can find refuge here.”

I want for that inspiration and that longing to create to spread to all areas of my life, not just where we live. I want to focus less on what I don’t have and more on what I can do to make everything around me beautiful. That’s a better motto, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

