cheap dates and being a student’s wife

Tyson and I went on a date yesterday. Even though, I guess when you don’t have kids, any time you’re out and about together is kind of a date? (Debatable.) Anyway, we went on a date yesterday. We walked hand in hand on my beloved Main Street because there was a tent sale and then shared a cherry vanilla Diet Coke from the Dream Machine at Burger King. The day was perfect, with the air blowing just right and a light sprinkle that made rainbows appear everywhere. The best part: it cost less than $3!

I’m a cheap date. It’s at the top of the list for “things that make me a great student’s wife.” Also on the list:

  • I’m a great bargain shopper. If you tell me you like something I’m wearing, I will probably answer, “It was $6 at Target!”
  • I didn’t major in flashcard-making, but I might as well have.
  • I’m a pretty decent editor. Give me your 12 point font, double-spaced paper and a red pen, and I will go to town on it. #grammarnazi
  • I understand the importance of study snacks. And class snacks. And finals week snacks. And snacks in general.

Now that I’m done patting myself on the back, I have to add this:

When we were about to get married and join the ranks of poor married college students, we heard so many stories from older couples that had experienced what we were about to experience. After they had finished telling us their stories of poverty and privation, they ended with them saying something along the lines of, “Those were the happiest days of our lives.”

I didn’t understand that mentality then, but I’m starting to. Don’t get me wrong, I’m looking forward to  being able to have J. Crew shopping sprees (and is it sad that that’s my idea of luxury?), but for now, this is my life, and I’m so glad that I get to share it with Tyson.

As we walked up to our apartment yesterday, past the dumpster with the lid that is eternally open and eternally stinky, I said to Tyson, “I would rather be poor with you than rich with anyone else.”

And I actually meant it.

Leave a Reply

