book report & topknot update 2

We’re back! I have a myriad of pictures from our little vacation that I want to put up, but there’s also a pile of (clean) laundry on our bed that is calling my name. So for now, all I have is some book and hair updates, per usual:

I didn’t think I’d get a chance to read this past week since we’d be spending a lot of time in the car and reading while in motion used to make me sick. I packed my Kindle anyway and was pleasantly surprised when I realized that I could read in the car with no problem. This week, I read The Giant’s House: A Romance by Elizabeth McCracken. I have to admit that I was not a huge fan of this book. I kind of just wanted it to end the entire time. I think I mostly had a problem with the narrator. I wanted to like her,  but I just couldn’t… And I don’t think she even cared that I didn’t like her! What is it with me and picking weird books lately?

I’m currently reading Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. I’d heard a lot of good things about this book, and I was so excited to finally start reading it. So far, I’ve had a hard time putting it down.

Up next: Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

As for the topknot update:

Screen shot 2013-07-09 at 8.59.08 PM

I promise I own other t-shirts besides this one

This picture was taken at a Jack in the Box in Las Vegas. We stopped there to get gas and dinner, and I put my hair up sans mirror. It looks a little too effortless, so it barely passes. I give it a six.

Pictures from our trip to California coming soon!

Also, I’m thinking of starting a book club. Thoughts?

5 thoughts on “book report & topknot update 2

  1. Here is some bun advice to achieve that perfect top-knot you have been looking for.
    First and foremost-buns work best with older hair. If you just washed your hair, then the best time to put it up is after wearing it down all day. The oils your head produces along with the combination of oils from your fingers will give the bun that messy/effortless look. If I put it up at the end of the day, I sleep in it and then pin up some of loose hairs and hairspray. Works like a charm.
    1.The type of band you are using. I like to use one that has a little more give in it. If it is too tight, then it holds your hair exactly in place. If you use one that is a little more loose, then the hair will give and give that loose look. And, you can pull on the hair to loosen up the bun.
    2. Use bobby pins with the ballerina bun.
    3. After pinning/tying up the bun. Rub the hair that frames your face. That will pull out the baby hairs. The look you are going for. Then as you wear the bun throughout the day, a little more will fall out, like the short but long strands, making your bun effortless.
    4. Try a different bun. I have a hard time getting my bun to be successful with the ballerina bun you are trying. I have 2 go to buns: the bouffant bun (kim kardashian look-essentially the sock bun look without the sock). (youtube it). You put your hair in a pony and tease the crap out of it. It should look silly when you are done. Wrap the bun around the pony and pin it. It will take a couple times of teasing and wrapping to get it right.
    Second bun is created by me. The Steph Bun. I will try to explain, there is a youtube on it called the Cameron Diaz bun. Mine is essentially the same thing, but I dont wrap the hair after putting it in the half pony. I wrap the hair into the half pony. Let me see if I can explain.
    I start like I am going to put my hair into a pony. Only I dont wrap the hair tie around. Once I get to the point of getting ready to string my hair through the tie, I grab the hair and flip it up. So then essentially, it is a halfpony with the elastic going around the hair only once and the ends of the pony on top of head. So what I have done here is put my hair into the half pony (like we did in the 90s) and twisted the longer hair that usually sticks out on the bottom onto the top of my head. I then knot the rubber band over the knot/nub I have created. This is done in a swift motion, never letting the hair or band leave both of my hands. I now take the part of the elastic that I have just knotted over the nub and tuck the longer hairs into it, by wrapping it into the elastic. Bun is done. So I open up the elastic and tuck the longer strands in. I am not wrapping the hair around like in the video. I am taking the longer hairs and sweeping them into the elastic. Remember, I am not letting go of anything at anytime I am doing this. This is all done very quickly and a sweeping motion. If there are any hairs left over, I tuck them into the elastic. I pull on the bun to loosen it. I reach into my head and tug out some bumps. Pull onto my hair to make it more loose at the top. I reach underneath and loosen up under the hair in the back. I rub my forehead and around my face to loosen up those baby hairs.
    I hope this advice helps. I can send you a video of the second bun if you would like 🙂 Seeing is better than believing.

    • P.S. With the bouffant bun, after teasing it, the tighter you wrap and pin, the smaller it will be. The more loose you do it, the bigger it will be. When you youtube it, the girl’s bun is pretty big, like a sock bun. When I do it, its a pretty normal size bun, maybe slightly larger. I also don’t have super thick hair, its pretty thin, so that might also be affecting effecting? it. Sorry, I am a grown adult, but yet still dont know the difference between affect and effect 🙂

Leave a Reply

