book report & topknot update

Topknot update: Remember how I was on my way to topknot perfection? Here’s where I’m at now:

20130619_094601It doesn’t look quite as effortless as I would like it to be (because it’s not), but it’s also not middle school librarian, so I guess that’s a step in the right direction. I’d give it a solid six on a ten point scale.

As for my books… It had been so long since I had been unable to put a book down that I almost thought that I had forgotten how to love a book with such intensity. Ever since I started my non-shrinking brain exercise, I’ve realized that I haven’t. Here’s what I’ve been reading:

  • I Feel Bad About My Neck And Other Thoughts On Being A Woman  by Nora Ephron – I don’t think I’ve ever laughed so much while reading a book. This is how I want to tell stories.
  • The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender – The prose was beautiful, but it got so, so weird towards the end. I finished the book around 2 am, Tyson asleep right beside me, and me not knowing who to talk to or how to deal with this ending. I googled “The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake explanation” on my phone. I guess I wasn’t the only person confused about this book.
  • Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares – Remember those traveling pants books? They were all the rage when I was starting high school. I had always been curious about what happened to these four friends. I was surprised by how dark and sad it was. I still liked it, but I was expecting a light, fun read. I was not emotionally prepared to deal with fictional tragedies. And I’m still not sure if I’m a Lena or a Carmen, but I know I’m not a Bridget.

Currently reading:

  • The Giant’s House: A Romance by Elizabeth McCracken
Leave a Reply

