an exercise in confidence

Disclaimer: This post is mostly about my hair.

Yesterday, we went to Cafe Rio for dinner because Taco Tuesday only comes around once a week. When we walked in, there was a group of about three girls standing by the door. One of the girls was wearing cheetah pants and a floral headband. I marveled at how brave she was, mixing prints together like that. Her hair was piled on top of her head in a messy topknot. I instantly had major topknot envy. I don’t know if it’s because my hair is curly and thin, but when I pile my hair on top of my head like that, it ends up looking like a pathetic little cinnamon roll. Tyson and I theorized about how she made her hair look like that. She must have her own personal Joey (Rachel Zoe’s hair and makeup person). It’s the only thing that makes sense.

rachel-zoe-project-joey-maalouf

This morning, I tried to recreate the topknot that I had witnessed the day before. By noon, my head was throbbing and I couldn’t take the topknot any longer. I undid it and opted for a Katniss Everdeen french braid instead. I sighed as I undid my hair; life must be so easy when your hair is perfect.

I thought back to some months ago when I applied for a job that I really wanted and didn’t get. In my follow-up meeting, one of my interviewers told me, “We wish you’d been more confident.” I do too. All I really know about confidence is that some people have it and I don’t. Cheeta-clad Cafe Rio girl had it. Maybe her topknot is held up by confidence and self-esteem.

So what comes first, the perfect hair or the confidence? I don’t know. For now, I guess I will just have to watch youtube tutorials and practice the topknot. Or maybe Tyson can be my Joey. Either way, topknot perfection, I am coming for you.

Screen shot 2013-05-22 at 11.57.24 PMConfidence, I’m coming for you too.

One thought on “an exercise in confidence

  1. Pingback: one hundred | airplanes&typewriters

Leave a Reply

