gatsby and the rain

We thought we would enjoy some more sunshine this weekend, but it actually ended up raining every day. I was  worried that this would mean that the farmers market scheduled for Saturday morning would get cancelled, but we showed up to a full house. People are pretty serious about their fresh produce here.

I’m pretty serious about my baked goods. When I asked about a peanut butter and chocolate cookie, the lady that had baked them said that there were no hydrogenated oils in her cookies. I was like “Woman please, what kind of girl do you take me for? I will take those hydrogenated oils as long as they taste good.” (I didn’t actually say that. I dont’ even know what hydrogenated oils are.) Wild horses couldn’t drag me away from homemade cookies, hydrogenated oils or not.

After the farmers market and a quick nap, we went to a matinee showing of The Great Gatbsy. The Great Gatsby is one of my favorite, favorite books. I’m still trying to figure out if naming my firstborn Fitzgerald Daun would be too much (maybe as a middle name?). Needless to say, I had great expectations. I was so disappointed by this adaptation that even buying a striped maxi skirt only cheered me up for about fifteen minutes. Poor Tyson had to listen to me complain for the rest of the day about how Tobey Maguire is no Nick Carraway and Leonardo Dicaprio is no Jay Gatsby.

Screen shot 2013-05-19 at 10.08.20 PMAnyway, my polka dot umbrella got some good use this weekend, but it was kind of useless because this is what happens when my hair is around moisture:

Screen shot 2013-05-19 at 10.08.30 PM

#curlyhairproblems

Monday, please be kind.

2 thoughts on “gatsby and the rain

  1. Tobey Maguire literally made me cringe, and I hated the moment when Gatsby was introduced. It was awful. And it’s not that I hate Baz Lurman, I liked Romeo + Juliet as well as Moulin Rouge, I just hate what he did to this. Gatsby is not cartoony. I also hated the soundtrack, which everyone is raving about.

    The movie makes me all kind of grumpy when I think of it.

Leave a Reply

