small victories

Happy Friday! I could not be more excited about it being the weekend. I’m sure it had something to do with it being finals week, but this week was rough. I came home on Wednesday and went straight to shower; I felt like I needed to wash the day off of me. While I was in the shower, I kept thinking about how I would put my paint-stained sweatpants and baggiest t-shirt on and then go lie in bed. I deserved it.

As soon as that thought came to my mind, another thought followed it. It was something I’d read some time ago:

Screen shot 2013-05-03 at 8.14.46 PM

I decided that I would only be sad while I was in the shower, and once I got out, I would stop pitying myself. I wrote this while my hair was still dripping wet:

Depression is not your friend. Depression is the enemy. When you feel its darkness start to creep in, you look the enemy in the eye, and you say, “You are not my friend, and I will not invite you in.” There’s power in those small victories. There’s power in being able to say to darkness, “You may have won yesterday, but you will not win today.” I have been sad, and I have been happy, and it’s easier to be sad, but it’s better to be happy.

Hope you all have a great weekend – one filled with victories, both large and small.

Leave a Reply

