one year

I always thought that I would marry someone who was really similar to me. Fun would be spending the night in front of the fireplace and reading together. I don’t know where I got that idea.

beauty-and-the-beast-key-scene-01

When I first met Tyson, he didn’t fit this picture at all. I thought that he was a cute boy that had nothing in common with me. I mean, he doesn’t even like reading! He enjoyed the great outdoors and seemed to have infinite energy. He liked me because my hair smelled like strawberries (true story), so he found a way to sit next to me at institute, at firesides, and at church. I found myself enjoying his company and realizing that maybe there was more to him than I had originally thought. Chantrelle and I would kick off our high heels as we came into her house after church and dissect every look and every conversation. Megan, Arnold, and Jen all had to proofread my texts to Tyson because I wanted to sound cool and casual. Liking boys is complicated business.

76369_643397625774_3475336_n

shut up, I do not have a crush on Tyson Daun! *blushes*

Last night, as I was preparing today’s Relief Society lesson and looking through some old notebooks, I found the words that made me fall in love with Tyson. It’s a short but powerful testimony on repentance that he shared in institute one night. I remember looking at him then and thinking, “This is the man I’m going to marry.”

Reader, I married him.

0020_TB Daun TEM

Being married to him has been the best adventure. He is the sweetest, kindest, most loving husband, and is so invested in my happiness. He has taught me so much about what love means. Words are not enough when it comes to describing how much I love him.

p1010912437-6
Luckily, I have all of time and eternity to try to show him. Happy anniversary, Tyson Daun, I kind of have the world’s biggest crush on you.

Leave a Reply

