lies I tell myself on Monday mornings

To say that I’ve never been a morning person would be an understatement. To say that I’m scary before breakfast and a Diet Coke would not. It’s usually hard for me to get up for work in the morning, but it’s especially hard on Monday mornings. For some reason, Monday mornings make my bed warmer and my husband snugglier, and it makes me want to stay in bed all day. So I lie to myself, and say:

It will be a toasty 70 degrees when you walk out the door.
Everyone you talk to on the phone today will be polite and competent and make your job easier.
You’re going to look so skinny in those dress pants.
Your hair will look flawless, no one will even notice all those split ends.
If you have a really bad day, Tyson will make you brownies when you get home.

Actually, the last one’s true : )

Leave a Reply

