my ring, and this blog

This is my engagement ring, which now doubles as a wedding ring. It’s quite versatile.

I’ve probably said this a million times, but I wish that I had been keeping a journal at the time that Tyson and I started dating. That was a really exciting time, and I wish I could remember every detail. I do remember the day we found my ring, though.

We had decided that we wanted to get married and had started looking around for rings. Part of me wanted the ring to be a surprise, and a bigger part of me wanted to have a say on something that I would be wearing for the rest of my life.

We found my ring at the second jewelry store that we went into, a few days into our search. I had tried on almost every ring there, and everything just looked awkward and did not fit with who I thought I was or who I wanted to be.
Then we found it.

The jeweler told us that the details on the side were Celtic love knots, that they symbolized past, present, and future, with the bigger diamond representing the present. I love my ring. I think there’s a quiet dignity in it. It doesn’t scream, “Look at me,” but it doesn’t need to. I knew that every time I looked down at my ring, I would be reminded to live in the present, instead of in the past, where my nostalgia sometimes takes me, or in the future, where my anxiety always takes me. I could look down and be reminded of love in the present tense, at the center of something beautiful, though supported by the reminder of yesterday and the hope of tomorrow.

This is one of the reasons why I decided to finally start writing about our lives. Writing helps me sort through the mess in my head. It helps me prioritize. It helps me remember the past and appreciate the present, keeping the future at bay.

Speaking of the future… We’re moving in less than a month– a different state, a different time zone, a different adventure. As excited as we are to move forward, we’re also saddened by all the people and places we will be leaving behind. We wanted a way to have a conversation with those people, like we would if we could– when you talk about the past and how you were always late to class in high school, the present and how your hair has not been cooperating with you all day, and the future and how you want to visit New York someday. This is our little way of having a conversation with all of our friends and family that we are leaving behind as we move on to the next chapter in our lives. It’s our way of saying, “Hello. We miss you. We love you. These are the stories we would tell you if we could see you right now.”

Leave a Reply

